+234(0) 703 586 2582


Registry is one of the dynamic and functional organs of the University. The Department coordinates the entire administrative machinery of the University. It ensures smooth running of the day-to-day administration of the University and serves as its nerve centre. The Department is headed by the Registrar, who by Law is the Chief Administrative Officer of the University and is responsible to the Vice-Chancellor in the management of the affairs of the University. The Department provides all the secretarial services to Council, Senate and all Committees of the University for the smooth operation of the University.


When Federal University of Technology, Minna was established on 1st February, 1983, most of the activities that followed were all coordinated in Shiroro Hotel and later at a University rented apartment along Shiroro Hotel road. The pioneer Registrar of the University was late Dr. Bitrus P. Sawa who assumed office on 1st March, 1983 with a handful of dedicated staff.
It could be mentioned that the choice of Dr. Sawa as the pioneer Registrar was particularly apt as he was already a Senior Deputy Registrar with a wealth of experience from Ahmadu Bello University, Zaria. Federal University of Technology, Minna certainly benefited tremendously from his vast experience and thus the Registry as an arm of the University had a smooth take off.
Dr. James Bawa Salka who was all alone the Deputy Registrar took the mantle of leadership of the Registry in an acting capacity following the demise of Dr. Bitrus P. Sawa in 1986. He had only a very brief stint in office as acting Registrar before he left for a national assignment. Alh. Umaru Abubakar Sadiq who was the Academic Secretary and a Principal Assistant Registrar by rank held forte in acting capacity before the appointment of a substantive Registrar in the person of Mrs. L. S. Osori later Mrs. Larai Sa-adatu Jibrin Ahmed on 1st August, 1988. Thus, she became the first woman to be so appointed into that exalted position in the history of University education in Nigeria.
Mrs. L. S. J. Ahmeda’s tenure witnessed rapid growth in the size of the University (i.e. students and staff) and its antecedent complexities. Upon the completion of her first term in office, Mrs. Ahmed did not apply for a second term because of Decree 11 of 1993 which made the position of the Registrar into termed appointment of five years. Hitherto the position of a Registrar was seen as a career post that normally ended with retirement of the holder of the office.
The exit of Mrs. Ahmed in June 1993 once again ushered the return of Alh. U. A. Sadiq as Acting Registrar having attained the position of a Deputy Registrar. He was later appointed the third substantive Registrar with effect from 1st October, 1998. His tenure ended on 30th September, 2003 and was unable to utilize the second term on account of attaining retirement age midway. However, more than any other person before him in this University, he held the position of the Registrar for a longer period. All together he served for a period of twelve years both in acting and substantive capacity.
Following the exit of Alhaji U. A. Sadiq, the mantle of leadership fell squarely on the shoulders of Mallam Muhammad Dattijo Usman who commenced his tenure as the Registrar in an acting capacity on 1st October, 2003. He was substantively appointed to the position on 7th June, 2007. He completed his five years term on 6th June, 2012. During the tenure of Mal. M. D. Usman, the Department witnessed a rapid growth in terms of Staffs strength.
Mal. M. D. Usman handed over the leadership of the Department to Mrs. Victoria Nnawo Kolo, who was appointed as the fifth substantive Registrar on 11th June, 2012. Mrs Victoria Nnawo Kolo was succeeded by Mr. Amos Nmadu Kolo as the sixth substantive Registrar with effect from 12th June, 2018 the position he is occupying up to date. Since his assumption of duty as Registrar, he has continued to build on the gains and achievements recorded in the Department in the areas of digitization of students academic transcripts, prompt issuance of students certificates upon graduation, returns of Advancement and Development Office/Alumni and Identification (ID) Cards Units to the Registry, among others.


  • Eli Usman Gbadafu
  • Aisha S Usman
  • Abubakar Muhammed
  • Danladi Mallam



The mission of the Registry is to prepare staff for a future of dynamic change with relevant knowledge in administration within and outside the University which would meet the present day challenges.


The vision is to be a world class in the global administrative network, reputed for its services, excellence in management and innovative corporate culture.

Contact Details


+234 8035886203

Social Info

Other Information
Nmadu Kolo hails from Kpaki in Mokwa Local Government Area of Niger State. He holds a BSc degree in Political Science from Bayero University, Kano in 1983 and a Master’s degree in Public Administration obtained from University of Ibadan in 1991. He is the sixth substantive Registrar of the Federal University of Technology, Minna. He joined the service of the University in 1992 as an Assistant Registrar on Transfer of Service from Niger State Ministry of Education. In the course of his service to the University, Mr. Kolo exhibited high level of dedication in all Units of Registry he was privileged to serve. No doubt, with his dint of hard work and loyalty to the system, he rose through the ranks and became the sixth substantial Registrar with effect from 12th June, 2018. He has held the position to date.



Other Information