+234(0) 703 586 2582

Computer Science Department

Computer Science Department

The Department of Computer Science was established in 2009. It was created from the defunct Department of Mathematics/Computer Science with the aim that it is the backbone of the Information and Communication Technology (ICT). The Department offers a degree programme of Bachelor of Technology (B.Tech), Postgraduate Diploma (PGD), Master of Technology (M.Tech), and Doctor of Philosophy (PhD) in Computer Science. The Department offers a unique educational opportunity for students to achieve excellence through vigorous classes, practical and participation in cutting edge ICT research. The Department has been headed since inception by the following:

  1. Dr. (Mrs) Francisca N. Ogwueleka   2009 – 2012
  2. Dr. Muhammad Bashir Abdullahi    2012  –  Date


To build national capacity through the provision of sound and well grounded theoretical and practical computer science leading to advancement in Information and Communication Technology that drives development and develop high level manpower that will create job and wealth through the use of ICT, and reduce unemployment and poverty.


Computer Science

School Contact Info



Social Info



To be a leading academic center of excellence in Computer Science providing both software and hardware expertise and solutions that will shape the Information and Communication Technology landscape both nationally and internationally.


The Department of Computer Science will build and develop human capacity to high level through comprehensive educational programs, research in collaboration with industry and the government, dissemination through scholarly publications, and services to professional societies, the community, the state, the nation and the world at large.