About the School of
Physical Sciences (SPS)

The School of Physical Sciences was carved out from School of Natural and Applied Sciences on the 6th of November, 2014. The School houses six Departments namely; Chemistry, Geography, Geology, Mathematics, Physics and Statistics. The Departments except Statistics offer BTech, Mtech and PhD degrees in various disciplines.

To encourage the advancement of learning and acquiring a higher education in Technology.

Both academic and administrative activities of the Departments in the school are well coordinated. These includes student’s results, students’s cases, transfer, staff promotion, seminar /conferences and discipline of both student and staff institutional board meeting.

The school has a staff strength of 163 on permanent and pensionable appointment, some are on sabbatical and some on visiting appointment. Currently, some staff are on study fellowship for various higher degree programmes within and outside the country.


The school strives to become one of the Nigeria leading Universities both academically and socially.


The school is committed to the training of skilled and innovative work force that would harness the forces of physical resources into goods and services which would affect the economy and thus the quality of life of her people.

Apply for Admission

In School of Physical Sciences

We don’t just give students an education and experiences that set them up for success in a career. We help them succeed in their career—to discover a field they’re passionate about and dare to lead it.