By Job Haruna
Team FUTMinna has qualified for the semi-finals of the ongoing Higher Institutions Football League (HIFL).
The FUT, Minna boys entered the super four after defeating their counterparts from the University of Ilorin 4 – 3 via a penalty shoot-out as the teams had held each other goalless through extra time in the second leg of the quarter finals decided today, Thursday 2, 2021 at football pitch, Main Campus, Gidan Kwano.
The first leg played last week in Ilorin equally ended goalless.
In the semi-finals, the FUT, Minna team will be taking on their opponents from the University of Maiduguri.
Earlier, the University of Ilorin football team paid a courtesy visit to the Management of the Federal University of Technology, Minna.
The brief meeting took place on Wednesday, September 1, 2021, at the Senate Chamber, Main Campus Gidan Kwano.
The Director of Sports University of Ilorin, Prof. Olufunmilola L. Dominic who led the team expressed her sincere appreciation to the Management for warm reception given to them by the University Sports Committee led by Prof. Rasheed Ojutiku.
The aim of the league according to the representative of the Nigeria University Games (NUGA) and the Treasurer/ Chairman Technical committee of NUGA, Prof. Musa Garba Yakasai is to unify the schools and not only in academics but in other aspects as sports.
He said it is an avenue created for students to embrace sports like football which is one of the games that bring people of different tribes and races together.
Responding, the Vice-Chancellor of the University, Prof. Abdullahi Bala FSSSN while welcoming the team to FUT, Minnna appreciated the efforts of the Nigerian Universities Games and the sponsors of the ongoing Higher Institution Football League that made this a reality.
The Vice-Chancellor further assured the team of every assistance needed to have a good stay here in FUT, Minna.
He admonished both teams to imbibe spirit of sportsmanship during the quarter final match.
Principal Officers present at the event are: Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Academic), Prof. Faruk Adamu Kuta; Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Administration), Prof. Emmanuel Emeka Udensi fnip; Registrar, Mr. Amos Nmadu Kolo; Bursar, Mrs. Hadiza Goje fcna, fcti and the University Librarian, Dr. Katamba Abubakar Saka.
Photos by Elijah Yisa