COLLEAGIATE FOOTBALL CHAMPIONSHIP: FUTMinna Football Team Picks Qualification Ticket

Ahmadu Bello University, Zaria.

The Prof. Bala boys defeated Ibrahim Badamasi Babangida University (IBBU), Lapai football team 3-1 in their first match and rounded off the Championship with another emphatic victory over the host University, Ahmadu Bello University, Zaria 2-1 to join 31 other universities in the second edition of the collegiate soccer showpiece.

The Championship is being organized by PACE Sports and Entertainment Marketing and the Nigerian University Games Association (NUGA) with support from Stanbic IBTC Bank and PZ Cussons Nigeria Limited.

Speaking during an interview with Campus News, the Chairman, University Sports Committee, Prof. Rasheed Ojutiku expressed delight with the performance of the boys during the qualifiers and dedicated the qualification ticket to the Vice-Chancellor of the University, Prof. Abdullahi Bala for his support and passion towards the development of sports in the institution, adding that the team would do everything possible to win the trophy.

Prof. Ojutiku disclosed that preparations for the main Championship would commence immediately and that more players would be invited to Camp to vie for shirts before the final list would be submitted to the organizers.

The Chairman said the competition would go a long way in improving sporting infrastructure across the 32 universities since matches would be played on home and away basis.

On his part, the Technical Adviser/Coordinator of the team, Dr. Gbolahan Bolarin commended the players for playing according to instructions while revealing that the team is still work in progress.

“The players are technically sound, young and are hungry for success. We will intensify training and try to improve in some areas that we are weak during the qualifiers,” Dr. Bolarin disclosed.

The 32 universities will be zoned into the Atlantic Conference (South) and the Savannah Conference (North) for proximity and effective administration. The matches will be played on home and away elimination basis.

University of Agriculture, Makurdi won the maiden edition of the Championship in 2018.

About FUTMinna

The Federal University of Technology, Minna is a Federal Government owned University in Nigeria. It was established on 1st February, 1983.  Admin Login

The objective for its establishment is to give effect to the Nation’s drive for the much-needed self-reliance in Science, Engineering and especially Technology. It is a specialized University of Technology. Read more.

© 2019 Federal University of Technology Minna. All Rights Reserved. Designed By ITS FUTMinna