Former Head of the Department, Dr. Idris-Nda Abdullahi (lead researcher) along with two of his colleagues, Dr. Nuhu Waziri and Dr. Thomas Ako won the grant for a collaborative work titled: “Geological Mapping and Assessment of Metallic and Industrial Minerals in Parts of North Central Nigeria (FCT, Kaduna, Nasarawa and Niger States).”

In an address during the presentation of the awards which took place yesterday at Abuja in the Conference Room of the Ministry. The Minister of State, Hon. Abubakar Bawa Bwari disclosed that the occasion marked the first time ever that the Ministry was having such a research collaboration with Nigerian tertiary institutions. He expressed delight over the development and assured that it would be sustained.

The minister further disclosed that a total of 84 million naira was disbursed among 11 universities that won the grants and urged the benefitting institutions to stick to the terms of reference of the awards and complete the work within six months as stipulated.

Hon Bwari said the universities won the grants based on the merit of their proposals and the potential to develop the mining sector.

He said the release of the funds for research development and collaboration to benefitting universities will increase the geosciences data available for investors in mining sector.

Hon. Bwari expressed hope that the effort will help improve the quality of learning by impacting on the students and lecturers that would be involved in field work.

The minister disclosed that following the signing of the 2018 budget, the second phase of the collaboration will soon commence, adding that the ministry intends to, in future, increase the amount available for each research and further narrow the areas of study in order to deepen the actualization of its roadmap.

He called on tertiary institutions in the country to collaborate with the ministry to give Nigeria a befitting place on the mining world map.

Earlier in his remarks, Chairman of the Ministry’s Steering Committee, Prof. Olugbenga Okunola disclosed that proposals were received from 15 Nigerian universities, screened by the committee comprising five professors and 11 were found to be relevant to Mining Sector Roadmap.

He said that on completion of the studies, a peer review exercise will follow.

The Director, Research, Innovations and Development of FUT, Minna, Prof. Hussaini Makun received the award letter on behalf of the University.

Speaking with Campus News after the event, the lead researcher Dr. Abdullahi, said they had put in a lot of effort to ensure that their proposal was one of the best in the area they intend to work.

He expressed happiness that their efforts were crowned with success and gave assurances that they would study expeditiously to complete the work within the time limit.

A breakdown of the awards shows that other universities that won the same amount of grant with FUT, Minna are: Ahmadu Bello University, Zaria; Obafemi Awolowo University, Ile-Ife; University of Nigeria, Nsukka and Ibrahim Badamasi Babangida University (IBBU), Lapai.
University of Ibadan, University of Lagos, University of Port Harcourt, Nasarawa State University and Ebonyi State University all won grants worth N6.5 million each.

Responding on behalf of the benefitting institutions,
Vice-Chancellor of IBBU, Prof. Nasiru Maiturare described the event as a landmark and enjoined other ministers to follow suit in the direction of collaborating with Nigerian universities.

He said that the event has given life to Nigeria’s quest for diversification and development of its mineral deposits, just as it amplifies the federal government’s drive for local content.

Prof. Maiturare thanked the minister for recognising the talents and patronising the resources in Nigerian universities in order to develop the country’s economy. He assured that the universities would deliver the assignments beyond the expectations of the ministry
It may be recalled that the FUT, Minna had last year received a reconnaissance permit and exploration licence issued by the Nigerian Mining Cadastre Office.


To become a world class and Nigeria's leading University recognized for it s excellence in capacity building and service delivery.


As a specialized University we are committed to the training of skilled and innovative work-force that would transform Nigeria's natural resources into goods and services driven by entrepreneurship and Information and Communication Technology (ICT), to positively affect the economy and thus the quality of life of her people.



Listen LIVE to FUT Minna Campus Radio:

Search FM



Navigating the University along the trajectory of progressiveness and development. 
‘The race for excellence has no finishing line’. - Prime Minister of the United Arab Emirates (Inaugural Speech on Asumption of Duty December 1, 2017.)--Prof. A. Bala
”Today, we have grown to a healthy staff and student population of about 24,000; we have a very beautiful Campus to be proud of, virtually all our academic programmes have full accreditation and the University is ranked the best among specialized Universities, 5th in Nigeria and forty-fifth out of 4,245 universities in Africa. We have every reason to celebrate and be proud of these achievements. However, we cannot afford to rest on our oars “. Read more
  • COLLEAGIATE FOOTBALL CHAMPIONSHIP: FUTMinna Football Team Picks Qualification Ticket

  • FUTMINNA HOLDS PG MATRICULATION ..We Are Now Model For Specialised Varsities – Prof Bala

  • IEC 2019


NANISS SOLICITS FUTMINNA SUPPORT https://t.co/I1jKglY84G https://t.co/GQ5uQ8dGdr

About FUTMinna

The Federal University of Technology, Minna is a Federal Government owned University in Nigeria. It was established on 1st February, 1983.  Admin Login

The objective for its establishment is to give effect to the Nation’s drive for the much-needed self-reliance in Science, Engineering and especially Technology. It is a specialized University of Technology. Read more.

© 2017 Federal University of Technology Minna. All Rights Reserved. Designed By ITS FUTMinna