By Mustapha Alhassan
Authorities of the Federal University of Technology, Minna have concluded plans to confer a Doctor of Science Degree ( Honoris Causa) on the former Head of State, Gen. Abdulsalami Alhaji Abubakar, GCFR.
The Pro-Chancellor and Chairman of the University’s Governing Council, Prof. Olu Obafemi disclosed this on Wednesday, November 3, 2021, when he led members of Council on a courtesy call at the hilltop residence of Gen. Abubakar.
Prof. Obafemi said that the Council and Management of the institution arrived at the well-considered decision to confer the rare honour on the former Head of State.
He added that the official conferment will take place during the next Convocation Ceremony on February 2, 2022.
Noting that Gen. Abubakar had returned the country to democracy and further committed himself to a peaceful course, the Pro-Chancellor added that the University was eager to give the recognition to the former Head of State considering what he has done for the country.
He described Gen. Abubakar as a patriarch to the society with whom the University is privileged to be associated.
Responding, Gen. Abubakar thanked the University for the honour.
“We are happy to have the University in Minna, ” he said, adding that he had noted the calibre of people the University has honoured since inception.
He congratulated Prof. Obafemi on his appointment as Pro-Chancellor just as he condoled the University over the demise of its former Pro-Chancellor, Prof. ‘Femi Odekunle.
He commended the Management and staff of the University for their efforts in training the youth and urged them to maintain the standard and discipline.
Earlier, the Vice-Chancellor of the University, Prof. Abdullahi Bala FSSSN briefed the former Head of State on some recent developments in the institution, including the appointment of some Principal Officers.
The highlight of the occasion was the presentation of the letter of award of the degree to Gen. Abubakar by the Pro-Chancellor.
On the University delegation were: Deputy Vice-Chancellor Prof. Faruk Adamu Kuta, (Academic); Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Administration), Prof. Emmanuel Emeka Udensi, fnip; Registrar, Mr. Amos Nmadu Kolo; Bursar Hadiza Goje, fcna, fcti and Hon. Abubakar Muhammad Maru.
Others are: Dr. Chike Onwe, Hon. Cletus Obun, Mrs. Ndajiwo H. Asta, Prof. Muhammed Abdullahi, Prof. Rasheed O. Ojutiku and Alhaji Ahmed Yahaya Alhassan.
Photo Credit: Elijah Yisa