Mustapha Alhassan
In furtherance of the designation of the Federal University of Technology, Minna as a Centre of Excellence on Technology Development Studies (CoE-TeDes), the University has signed a memorandum of understanding (MoU) with the Nigerian Content Development and Monitoring Board (NCDMB).
The signing took place in a brief ceremony today at the Senate Chamber, Main Campus, Gidan Kwano.
Speaking shortly before appending his signature to the contractual document, the Vice-Chancellor of the University, Prof. Abdullahi Bala, fsssn, expressed appreciation to the NCDMB for deeming the institution a worthy beneficiary of the Centre of Excellence, noting that it is an honour to be so designated.
Prof. Bala gave assurances that FUT, Minna would make NCDMB proud as the institution has a crop of competent researchers. “ We are ready,” he declared.
The Vice-Chancellor also disclosed that the University is about commencing an undergraduate programme in oil and gas engineering , adding that the Centre of Excellence would give a further impetus to the new programme.
He expressed optimism that the collaboration would be a win-win situation for both parties.
Prof. Bala also commended the General Manager, Research, Statistics and Development of NCDMB, Alh. Abdulmalik Halilu and the Head of Department, Chemical Engineering in the University, Dr. Abdulkadir Mukhtar for their efforts leading to the realisation of the Centre and the MoU.
Earlier, the General Manager, Research Statistics and Development, Alh. Abdulkadir Halilu, who represented the Executive Secretary of NCDMB at the event, said that the MoU was sequel to needs assessment and determination of focus areas based on interaction of the Board and the University.

Alh. Halilu who is an alumnus of the University disclosed that the Board would be swinging into action immediately on the areas of intervention, adding that he had no doubt that the collaboration would succeed based on the zeal and commitment of both parties.
Head of Department, Chemical Engineering, Dr. Abdulkadir Mukhtar, who gave the vote of thanks, recalled that the journey to the Centre of Excellence began in 2014.
He disclosed that the FUT, Minna won the centre out of four universities that competed for it.
The overall objective of the CoE-TeDes is to enhance the capacity and capability of both parties with a view to providing relevant tools that will enhance the conduct of research, development and innovation and other relevant activities that will help in addressing challenges identified in the Nigerian oil and gas industry and its linkage sectors.
Deputy Vice-Chancellor ( Academic), Prof. Faruk Adamu Kuta; Deputy Vice-Chancellor ( Administration), Prof. Emmanuel Emeka Udensi, fnip; Bursar Mrs. Hadiza Goje, fcna, fcti, University Librarian, Dr. Abubakar Katamba Saka and Mr. Eli Gbadafu, Deputy Registrar (Establishment ) who represented the Registrar were at the event.
Photos: Elijah Yisa