ICPC Inaugurates ACTU C’ttee In FUTMINNA

By Oni, Kayode Philips & Oritogun, Winifred Osekafore

 The Management of the Federal University of Technology Minna has been urged to further engender the existing cordial working relationship with the Anti-Corruption and Transparency Unit (ACTU) of the University in the fight against corruption.

This advice was given on Thursday, March 11, 2021 by the Chairman, Independent Corrupt Practices and Other Related Offences Commission (ICPC), Professor Bolaji Owasanoye, (SAN) during the inauguration ceremony of the newly-constituted Anti-Corruption and Transparency Unit (ACTU) Committee held at the Senate Chamber, Main Campus, Gidan Kwano.

The Chairman who was represented by the Resident Anti-Corruption Commissioner, Kogi State Office, Mr. Ulu Okoro James appealed to the University’s Management to provide an enabling environment for the functionality of the Unit; especially in the area of funding.

The ICPC boss disclosed that the Anti-Corruption and Transparency Unit (ACTU) is an initiative of the ICPC since 2001, approved by the federal government to serve as an in-house check mechanism to prevent unethical practices in governmental Ministries, Departments and Agencies (MDAs) as well as universities in order to produce future leaders with zero-tolerance for corrupt practices.

Prof. Owasanoye also implored the newly inaugurated Committee to work hard in entrenching the principle of discipline, integrity, transparency and accountability in the Unit.

The ICPC Chairman further called on the Committee to shun victimization of staff and students in the course of performing their duties.

During his address, the Vice-Chancellor of the University, Professor Abdullahi Bala, fsssn, expressed delight at the presence of the ICPC officials; reminding those present that he was once part of the Unit.

The Vice-Chancellor while reaffirming Management’s commitment to global best practices, said the University has zero-tolerance for corruption of any form. He further assured the ICPC team that his administration would give utmost attention to corruption related cases on Campus.

The don disclosed that the University commissioned an internal institutional evaluation team in 2019 to measure the implementation of its mission statement, which is considered as an important document providing direction for the administration while revealing that the University’s Sexual Harassment Policy was also drafted in 2020.

“Under this administration, the promise to establish and strengthen the Procurement Unit, the SERVICOM Unit, the Quality Assurance and Productivity Unit and the Anti-Corruption and Transparency Unit has been kept with capacity to prevent, manage and respond to issue of corruption related practices on Campus”, Prof. Bala, disclosed.

Professor Bala congratulated the newly inaugurated Committee and urged them to lead an exemplary life.

On his part, the Director, ACTU, Professor Kasim Isah appreciated the University’s Management for considering him worthy of the position and laid out his agenda to move the Unit forward.

The members of the newly inaugurated Committee are; Dr. Mrs. V.A. Ayanwale, Dr.U.M. Zubairu, Dr. Abraham U. Usman and Dr. B. J. Olawoyi as well as Mr. Alhassan D. Zhiri, Mrs. Hassana Abdulkadir. Others include: Mr. Haruna Abubakar, Mr. Idris Mamman Dogo, Mr. Isah Mohammed, Barr. K. S. Agbonika and Mr. Usman Sha’a ban Aliyu.

The tenure of ACTU members is three years (maximum of two terms) from the date of inauguration.

The Anti-Corruption and Transparency Units were established in MDAs by the Independent Corrupt Practices and Other Related Offences Commission (ICPC) pursuant to circular (Ref. No. OHCSF/MSO/192/94 dated 2nd October, 2001), as an autonomous body with functional link to the Chief Executive Officers of the MDAs.

Write a comment