By Ugboaja, Stanley Uzoamaka

In what could best be described as a free, fair and credible election, the congress of the Academic Staff Union of Universities (ASUU), Federal University of Technology, Minna Branch, has elected Dr. Gbolahan Bolarin of the Department of Mathematics, School of Physical Sciences (SPS) as the new Chairperson of the Union.

The election was held simultaneously at the Gidan Kwano and Bosso campuses of the University on Wednesday, March 10, 2021.

The election, which witnessed a large turn-out of members, saw Dr. Bolarin garner 263 votes to emerge Chairperson of the Union, with his closest challenger, Prof. Ibrahim Dantani Wushishi, Department of Science Education securing 181 votes, while three votes were adjudged void.

Furthermore, the Union elected other members of the Executive, with Dr. Luqman Oyekunle Oyewobi, Department of Quantity Surveying elected unopposed as the Vice-Chairperson, after pulling a total of 434 votes. Also elected unopposed were Drs. Dauda Ibrahim, Department of Industrial Technology Education (Assistant Secretary), Adeoye Peter Aderemi, Department of Agric & Bio-Resources Engineering (Treasurer)and Muhammadu Masin Muhammadu, Department of Mechanical Engineering (Welfare Officer).

Others are Dr. Muhammed Liman, Department of Plant Biology (Internal Auditor) and Dr. Olawale Surajudeen Adebayo, Department of Cyber Security (Investment Officer).
For the position of Secretary, Dr. Oyeleke Ismail Olarinoye, Department of Physics pulled 235 votes to clinch the position over Dr. Mohammed Umar Garba, Department of Chemical Engineering who got 195 votes. Also, Dr. Usman D. Alhassan, Department of Physics clinched the position of Financial Secretary with 227 votes while Dr. Lekan Muhammed Sanni, Department of Urban Regional Planning came in a runner-up with 209 votes.

In an exclusive chat with the new Chairperson after the election, Dr. Bolarin said the emergence of the executives signals the commencement of a new dawn in the history of the Union in FUT, Minna through inclusiveness of members in decision making.

In his words, “Members should expect a robust, proactive and listening leadership of ASUU. They should be ready to support us at all times when they are required to do so. The congress should be ready to get involved and stop the notion that the Union is only for Executive members. The Union is for everybody,” he disclosed.

The new executive members have assumed office immediately in line with ASUU constitution.

The results of the election was announced by the Chairman, Electoral Committee, Dr. Paul Egwuonwu Dim at the Engineering Lecture Theatre, Main Campus.

Write a comment