By Abdullahi U. Danbakaba
It was a cheerful moment for the Hilltop Model Secondary School, Minna football team following its holistic victory over its opponent, the Abdullahi Dada Secondary School, Maikunkele Football Team at the final match of the third edition of the Chancellor’s Cup 2022 Football Competition organised by the Federal University of Technology, Minna in honour of the new Chancellor, His Imperial Majesty, Oba Aladetoyinbo Ogunlade Aladelusi, Odundun II, Deji and Paramount Ruler of Akure Kingdom.
The final match which was declared opened by a special kick-off from the Pro-Chancellor and Chairman of Council, FUT, Minna, Olu Obafemi on Thursday, January 27, 2022, at the University Sports Complex, Main Campus, Gidan Kwano was occasioned by two goals to nil in favour of the defending champion, which ranked it the two times winner of the competition having won the second edition in 2020.
In a related development, Angela Tiwo emerged winner in the final segment of the Teakwondo Competition having defeated her opponent, Aniola Paul by 8 points to 3. Both participants came from Kidis Palace Academy Minna.
Addressing the gathering shortly after the match, the Pro-Chancellor expressed his delight over the astonishing displays by the participants and the resilient characters of the audience.
Prof. Obafemi congratulated the Vice-chancellor and his Management team for bringing the series of Competitions into play. In his words, “sport itself has its character. If a progressive and dynamic University like this will give a spake to sport, it is also an important way of motivation.”
The Pro-Chancellor who also congratulated the participants, further attested that the University as a centre of academic excellence can also excel beyond initiating such an exemplary activity as demonstrated by the University in its efforts to marge the towns and the gowns.
Earlier in his brief address, the Vice-chancellor of the University, Prof. Abdullahi Bala FSSSN expressed his appreciation to the Chairman, University Sports Committee, Prof. Rasheed Ojitiku and other members of the committee for the successful organization of the Competition.
Highlights of the event include Presentations of Trophies and Medals to the overall winners, as well as 2nd and 3rd positions in the two categories of the competitions.
Photo Credit: Elijah Yisa